May 17, 2022 - Weekly Update

Howdy internet friend, and welcome back to my page. As I like to mention every week, Black Lives Matter! If you prefer to skip to the dog picture, click here. You may have noticed last week that I said I was going to post a follow up but I didn't. In fact, even this post is a day later than I usually like to post. That's because I was on travel for work and onboarding for a new job, and I wanted to focus all my attention on doing the best job possibe. Which leads to the following announcement: I am no longer going to be sharing work-related stuff on this page. I am still planning on talking about some external research I am going to do, as well as programming stuff, but otherwise this page is going to be more for personal stuff, philosophy posts, and pet pictures.

Oh, I will also share music stuff as well. Last weekend I started working on music again for the first time in a while. I had been going really hard and grinding and it stopped being fun. Then I kept going even more and it became even less fun. Now I'm making an effort to be intentionally having a good time and when it stops being enjoyable, so do I.

Last week my copy of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance came in the mail and I started going through it. I'm about a fifth of the way through and I cannot really say if I am enjoying it so far. I don't find the main character all that relatable and in fact he seems like a bit of a jerk. I am planning on doing a review of the book once I am done, and since it is considered a philosophical text, I am considering writing a response essay.

During my trip I listened to a few episodes of The Darknet Diaries podcast. I was fortunate enough to meet the host at DefCON the first time I went and Jack was great! Thaat podcast has really high production value (a fancy way of saying that it sounds great) and the episodes really draw you in.

Shifting back to the life outside headphones, my dogs did not like that I was going for five days. Brusier in particular got more and more sad as time went on. When I came home he growled at me (I was wearing both a tie and a hat) and he didn't recognize me. Once he did, he was so excited he started peeing on the floor. I had to go outside to say hello, and I won't be gross but I will say that it was the right place for the re-introduction. Then both dogs spent the better part of an hour lying on either side of me, getting hugs and pets. Bruiser has been requesting many more hugs than he did before I left, and as I write this he is licking my leg.

This was no unexpected, as I had not been away from either dog as long as they had lived with us. Which for Bruiser was around eight weeks and Bark (we later discovered) around six weeks old. Even though Bark Twain decided that my wife is his favorite person, I am the one who feeds him, plays fetch with him, and takes him for walkies. My wife was only able to take them once and then gave up, so they didn't get their three walks plus fetch per day. You can probably tell from my profile picture and the fact that each week I have a picture of them, but I love my dogs. I had bad experiences with dogs growing up, and I didn't think that I would ever want to be a pet friend. I am very glad my wife talked me into get dogs, because it made our life better. Even when they are annoying!

Anyway, that's all I have to share this week, internet friend. If you decide to not come back because you were only interested in the super technical consulting-related stuff, I totally understand and I won't begrudge you for that decision. I am considering writing about what I learned in five years consulting, and I had been thining about putting it on LinkedIN. Perhaps that isn't the way to go, and I will write that document and share it here instead? I will think about it and re-address it in the future. Only way to know what I decide to do is to check back later. :)

Thanks for taking the time to read this post. I hope you have a very nice day and a most excellent week. Cheers, internet friend!

Two dogs lying together
They are glad I am back


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post