November 7, 2023 - weekly update

Hey internet friend. Once again, it looks like I have let a long lapse in time occur between posts. This time, I was traveling for work and since I have issues with germs, I was taken out for longer than anticipated. But I am back now, and I have with me a medium-length update. Honestly, it's maybe just a little longer than the usual short ones. If you still want to skip this all together for the dog picture, you know what to do.

As I mentioned at the beginning, I had to travel recently and that is much less fun than it was before the pandemic. Personally, I am not interested in catching any airborne diseases, so I wore a mask indoors for the week. I didn't want to just use any mask, I made sure to have a KN-95. I wanted to get the best protection possible with the maximum comfort. I wanted to strike a balance between full-on germaphobe while still being as safe as possible.

One of the things that I did on travel was go to Saintcon, my first conference since everything changed. I will be totally honest with you about my experience. A big part of my struggle was that I was one of the very few people (less than one percent, just going by what I saw from people walking around and sitting in the talks) who were (was?) wearing a mask. This didn't make me feel really good or particularly safe. It also didn't make me want to stick around, or have people sit close to me. Overall it made the conference experience less enjoyable than it would have been had more people been taking any percautions. I did still end up getting sick and had two crummy days after I came back. But it was pretty minor and I was able to work through it.

Was it nice to meet people in person, including those who I have only ever interacted with online? Yeah, it was alright. I will also admit that there is something different about being in person versus across a screen. But it didn't feel like it did before, and maybe it will never feel like that again. All I know is that it is hard to imagine being indoors with close to two thousand people and not wearing a mask again. It was a little surprising to me that so few people seemed to share that opinion, but maybe the pandemic broke my brain in a different way than I had anticipated.

As you may (or may not) know, Saintcon is in Utah. This meant (or means) that I had to deal with being at a higher elevation than I am used to in the desert. That's not really a big deal, but it was a great reminder that I could be in much better physical condition. Whether it be riding a bicycle, walking, swimming, or something - I have to get into better shape.

Since I wasn't with my family, I mostly just played RuneScape 3 and I was able to get two really annoying skills to 99 (in case you are wondering, I am talking about Dungeoneering and Construction. No offense intended if you like those skills, I have actually come to really enjoy construction myself.) All I have left is strength and melee, and wouldn't you know it - double xp starts this weekend! It looks like I will finally be able to get that max cape after about a year and a half. It's been a (mostly good and fun) journey and while there are some skills I don't plan on using very much (like firemaking or cooking), there are others that I actually started to enjoy during the route to 99. Construction is one that I finished most recently, but it's turned into a money maker in a way I had not expected. Farming is also something I hated at first, but now I actually kinda enjoy doing runs for herbs and the money that comes with it is very nice. Last week I saved all the herbs from the week and sold them on Friday night, along with some construction stuff I did for AFK bread, and it was a very nice evening! My plan was to keep doing that, but now that DXP is coming, things are going to change up just a bit.

I've been able to upgrade to some very expensive gear, including the Essence of Finality (or) and the Berserker ring. Now I need to start working on t95 necro gear, which is around 900 million for the whole set.

Anyway, that's all I have to report for now, internet friend. Thanks for checking this out. I hope you have a nice day and a great week. Cheers!

Black and white dog sleeping in a bed
This new bed was for Bark Twain, but guess who uses it more?


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next page