November 21, 2022

Hey internet friend. As always I want to start by writing that Black Lives Matter! As usual if you want to skip to the dog picture, click here. This update is mostly going to be about RuneScape 3 (or RS3), so if you want to skip this week I can totally appreciate that and I understand. Before I do that, I am going to do a little Twitter rant first.

While I didn't delete my Twitter account, I got really close over the weekend. If I wasn't worried about someone making a fake account to impersonate me, I would delete it. However, since I did include it when I published my article in 2600, it makes sense to keep it up until the Hellsite goes down. For me, the final straw was allowing Donald Trump back on the platform. That was just a bridge too far. When they restored his account, it was a bunch of tweets from the days after January 6, 2021 and it was a fresh reminder that he tried to overthrow the government and appoint himself dictator for life.

Perhaps it was a reminder that there have been no consequences for him since leaving office? Ultimately that was just too far and the platform had been going downhill drastically since the richest "genius" on Earth took over. Makes you wonder how a person can be the CEO of three companies at the same time if the job is so demanding? But that's a discussion for another day. Until then, I am over on Mastodon and you can find me @whatever_sauce on that platform. I am not going to cross-post to the birb site, so if you want to read my non-blog musings they will be there going forward.

Turning to a more happy topic, I finished my first double XP weekend (DXP) in RS3 and what an interesting experience! If you are not familiar, starting on November 11th, we were given 48 hours where our experience points earned were doubled. You could pause it if you like, and we had ten days to use all the time. I set a few goals for myself and I was able to accomplish most of them. Next time I am going to take a screenshot at the beginning and then show my progress at the end. I didn't think to do that until maybe Saturday night, then I figured it would make sense to show the progress from the first weekend to the end of DXP.

Two screenshots spliced together, showing my skilling progress over Double XP in RuneScape 3
Look at all the progress. OoOoOooOooOo!@

There is an elf city that requires ten skills to be up to 75 before you can start the quest to gain entry. At the start of DXP I think I had two of the required skills at 75. By the end that number was up to five, with woodcutting at 73 (about the be 74). These skills include ranged (attacking using a bow) and while I had been using magic before this, I have switched to ranged to get the requirements for the quest/city.

In doing all that skiling, there were a few things that I learned. First is that you want to find as many ways as you can to boost your experience percentage. If you are in a clan and you contribute every week for three weeks, you can add a buff that gives you 6% bonus XP. You can add other things on top of that and combine it with DXP and make real fast progress and gains.

Another thing in learning how to use equipment and familiars. For woodcutting (one of the slower skills) there are things you can do to make it easier. You can create these items called Sign of the Porter that transport the wood you cut directly to the bank. You can drink a potion that gives you a chance of cutting two logs at once (and thus double XP for that swing). There are familiars like this beaver that will collect logs and give you a bonus to woodcutting skill. You can even do incense sticks if you really want to get extra bonus. It's all up for how much money you want to spend to make things go faster.

Another thing I learned about were Silverhawk feathers. You put them in these shoes and you get free agility XP without running the boring courses. I am going to keep paying until the skill is at least 99 (and if it goes to 120 there is a good chance I'll pay for that as well). I think the agility courses are no fun to go through, and as I am cutting wood I just got another level of Agility. Soon it'll be my highest skill and I've not gone to a training course since I was in the 50s (and I just hit 77).

Overall, I really liked DXP and while it was a grind (48 hours is a long time to play over ten days) getting big gains made it worthwhile. My dogs aren't very happy because I've spent too much time in my office. However, the timing was good because now I want to spend more time with my family and the holiday season will be starting soon.

Well, that's about all I have for this week, internet friend. I hope you enjoyed the rants.

Dog sleeping and wrapped up in a blanket
Bark Twain having an afternoon nap on the couch


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post