November 2, 2022 - weekly update

Hey internet friend, welcome back to this weekly update post. As always, Black Lives Matter! Also, if you want to just see the dog picture, click here. This weeks post is going to be short so let's just dive right in.

I should mention right off that it isn't Monday, the day when I usually publish updates. I don't really have a good reason outside getting distracted playing RuneScape 3 (RS3) and honestly not really feeling like writing it. My wife has pointed out previously that I was the one who decided posts should be Monday and they don't have to be. Weekly update posts can be any day. Is it nice to get it done on Monday? Sure! However, the world doesn't come to an end if I don't manage to update it, and now I am rambling.

Most of what I did over the week was in RS3. I was invited to join a group of players and I've learned a bunch already! One thing I didn't know was that there is an Artisan shop where you can do your smithing and you earn respect for every 10k experience earned there. You can use that respect to get armor that increases your smithing XP and I had read about but didn't know where to get. I wish I would have found out about this before getting all the way to level 68, but that's part of the game. There is so much to learn and know and that includes crafting skills!

Anyway, the weekend was mostly uneventful. It's finally getting close to winter in the desert. It is taking longer for the sun to rise in the morning and it is setting much earlier. Even the days are getting less hot, and all of that is wonderful! This year there was a bunch of humiditiy (much more than last year) and I didn't like that. Making the choice to come to the desert was to avoid things like that, so I am very glad things are cooling off now.

I also wanted to write about Elongated Muskrat buying Twitter. I've written on that platform that it feels like people reading Cyberpunk and Superman and getting the totally wrong understanding. It's like thinking, "wow, that Clark Kent sure is a jerk! I want to know what Lex Luthor is up to, that's a great person." Billionaires are policy failures and when they could make the world a better place, only MacKenzie Scott is actually doing it. However, even she can't give her money away fast enough. Which proves the point of billionaires being policy failures, but I feel like that should be pretty obvious. You can't really luck in to it, or pull yourself up by your bootstraps and do it. More often than not, they are born on third base and get massive help from their parents early on. There are plenty of examples, but my point remains.

Someone also pointed out that if being a CEO was such a hard job, how can Elongated Muskrat be the CEO of three companies at once? Honestly I think the thing that is the most funny about all this is watching someone pay $44 billion to have regular people dunk on them. When before the website was free! I mean, we are talking about just taking L after L publicly, on a platform that you own - oof! Yeah, it couldn't be me. Only thing more embarassing are the people who spend their time defending him in the comments, as though he will pick them to go to Mars. How cringe and embarassing! Why not look up to actual scientists and people who are making the world a better place, instead of people who force their new employees to work 84 hour weeks and sleep under their desks.

That's enough of a rant about that dude. I've gotta go walk the dogs. Thanks for reading, internet friend. I hope you have a nice day and a great week.

one dog standing over another dog
My wife calls this move "the oreo" and I suspect you can guess why....


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post