January 30, 2024

Hey there, internet friend. You have probably noticed that it's been a month since I've posted. Bunch of stuff going on but no dog picture, so if you want to skip this week I understand.

Probably the biggest new is that I have pretty much quit playing RuneScape 3. I had a feeling this day would come, and I also knew the reason. I suspect one of the biggest reasons people play RS3 is the nostalgia. Unfortunately for me, RS3 came out when I was almost an adult, and thus it doesn't have the same nostalgic feeling that other games have. Games like Ultima Online. So when a friend told me about a free server that was popular, I dove in.

This has been both a fun an interesting journey. One thing that came up was having a Windows computer to run it. For me, the last time I was on Windows was XP and I had some apprehension. But my mentor pointed out that becoming more comfortable on Windows systems would help professionally, so I bit the bullet and bought a new (refurbished) desktop. It has a 1 TB SSD, 64 GB of RAM, and six cores. It's a very beefy machine and I am happy with it. Partially I needed it to play games, but I also needed it for working on the OSCP/OSWP.

I have finished the coursework for the OffSec wireless course, now I am just working through some labs in a different book before taking the test. So between UO and prepping for OffSec courses, that's why I've not posted in a month. That's the only reason...

Anyway, thanks for checking in and I hope you like this update. Maybe next week I will post about my adventures in UO on the Outlands free server. Until then, have a great day!

Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post