February 5, 2024

Hey there, internet friend. This should be pretty short, and I am trying to be better about updates, but if you want to skip the update and just check out the dog picture make this turn purple. But before we get too far going, we recently crossed over 50,000 views in under two years. Holy cow that is amazing! When I think about what little I do to promote this, to think that over two thousand people every month visit this page is mindblowing! I realize that some of it is probably bots/crawlers, but it can't be all of it! Thanks for everyone who checked this page out and read what I wrote and looked at the dog pictures.

Turning back to the update and in keeping on the trend of talking about video games, I was right last time when I said that I had pretty much quit RS3. There is a saying that goes something along the lines of, "you never know when will be the last time you log in." I realize that I am butchering the quote, but the sentiment is that (at least as I hear it) for everyone, something will happen and you will stop playing RS3. I have been thinking about writing a much longer post about this subject, but I will just say for now that playing UO Outlands is the nostalgia that I was trying to get from RS3. What I always suspected my issue was/is that I didn't grow up playing RS3, I grew up playing Ultima Online (UO). So the throwback feeling that others got from RS3 just never came to me, but it has with this server.

Perhaps it is because UO hit at just the right time. Maybe it is because it is one of my first and most early clear good memories from childhood. It might be that I get to play with friends I've had since elementary and junior high school, who don't live in the same state. Regardless of whatever combo it is, I just can't imagine going back to RS3. Maybe Outlands won't be the server/shard that I play forever, but I have been enjoying it so much!

I am still getting up at five every weekday morning to work on the OSWP. Having finished the coursework, I am going through a book with labs (if you are interested, that book is Hacking Wireless Networks - The ultimate hands-on guide and while it isn't perfect, it has plenty of good information. Hopefully in the next month or so, I will feel confident enough to take (and hopefully pass) the OSWP. If I do, I will try to do a write up about it on this blog as well.

That's about all there is to report this week, internet friend. We are bracing to get a bunch of rain today and tomorrow, and hopefully it won't cause too much damage. Thanks for reading. I hope you have a nice day and a great week!

Two dogs sleeping on dog beds
They are sleeping on the wrong bed.


Previous post    Back to top of page