August 29, 2022 - Weekly Update

Hey internet friend, welcome back to another weekly update post. If you want to just see the dog picture, click here. As I like to mention every week, Black Lives Matter! This will be a short update this week, so let's just dive right in.

Last weekend was pretty productive. I managed to finish recording the next Dude and the missing rugs EP, and posted it on Bandcamp. You can check it out here, if you like: Electro-dudes. One of my favorite bands is The Magnetic Fields, and the principal songwriter would sometimes make a series of albums with a theme. Because the first few "Dude" records were guitar-driven, I decided to challenge myself to make at least one more record with no guitars at all! There is something fun about forcing your creativity in a smaller window. Intentionally limiting yourself forces you to be more creative with what you have available.

Electronic music is fun because it is another genre where you don't have to have lyrics. One of my least favorite things to do is write words for music, and if I can avoid that all together, than I will. I have considered adding samples of people talking over the music (like from older movies) but I don't want to run afoul of any copyright issues and have thus far avoided it. Then I had to engineer the album and upload it to bandcamp. After that, I had to create some album art and get that going too. Before I knew it, the kid wanted to hang out and play video games and so we did that for a while.

There was also plenty of chess this weekend. I played a game against the kid and a bunch of five minute per side games on the chess.com app.

Oh yeah, I don't think I remembered to tweet about it, but I finished the book review of Coder at Work that I've been meaning to finish for a while now. You can read that by clicking the "previous post" button at the bottom or here if you don't want to go searching for it below the dog picture.

Well, that's about all I have to report for this week, internet friend. Thanks for reading, and I hope you have a nice day and a great week. Cheers!

Two dogs lying on different chairs in a room, looking at the camera
Why aren't you hanging out with us?


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post