July 18, 2022 - Weekly Update

Hey internet friend, welcome back to the weekly update post. If you want to just see the dog picture, click here and once again, it is only Bark Twain. As I like to mention every week, Black Lives Matter! This week I am going to be keeping it short.

There isn't much I want to write about this week. It is much later than usual as I am writing this, because I've not been sleeping well lately. A friend suggested I consider doing a sleep study, and as much as I have resisted that because I keep thinking that wearing some kind of sleep machine will stop me from sleeping well, I so rarely sleep well that it may just be worth the risk. "What does not sleeping well have to do with a late post?" Well, in the morning when I usually write this, I was feeling tired and groggy. Because of reasons I'd rather not share, I took a long nap and I'm writing this post now.

In dog-related news, Bruiser is currently crying at me because I won't take him outside. What he doesn't realize is that it is still 102 degrees outside and the sand will probably burn the pads of his feet. Once it cools down a little bit more I can take both of them, and I wish I could explain it to Bruiser in a way he could understand. Yesterday when I was at the pet store I considered buying the little booties you can put on the dogs feet so they can walk where it is hot. Bark Twain would have no problem getting them on - he would think it was some kind of hug for his feet. Bruiser on the other hand.... However, the reason that I was at the pet store was to buy him a muzzle so buying the shoes would have been a good chance to test it out. I actually bought the muzzle for Bruiser because he refuses to let people bathe him without biting and attacking them, so I figured it was worth $15 to try to wash him myself. I can think of way better things to spend my money on than giving someone $100 every time the dog needs a bath!

Shifting gears (pun intended), last week I finally wrote the book review of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and my biggest takeaway was that I have to write the review sooner after finishing the book! Too much of it had faded from my memory and my most spicy takes were lost to time. Fortunately I think I tweeted about them, so there is that, I guess. When it comes to the next review I will write something up more quickly. It'll be a while before I finish the next book. It is really slow reading. It's this book about programmers and it is made of interviews of some of the most famous people in programming history. I've enjoyed it with no plan of trying to read it fast. Just to absorb the knowledge of dudes who have been writing code (some of them) for like 40 or 50 years. There were very interesting interviews from excentric programming minds with keen and fascinating insight.

Anyway, that's all I've got for this week. Bruiser isn't going to stop bullying me until I take him out so I better go. Thanks for reading internet friend. I hope you have a very nice day and a great week. Cheers!

Dog lying under a chair but way too big to be under it
When your older brother is a "medium-sized" dog, you think you are also that size


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post