February 13, 2023

Hey internet friend. As always I want to start by writing that Black Lives Matter! As usual if you want to skip to the dog picture, click here. Most of this post is going to be about RuneScape 3 (RS3). If that isn't your jam, you can skip this one.

When I posted last week about my goal of getting a bunch of skills to 99 during double xp weekend (DXP), I didn't think that I would get one before the weekend started. However, that is just what happened because sometime this weekend I got my first skill to 99! There are six skills that have content that goes all the way to 120, but for the rest of the 28 skills the maximum is 99. I was really pleased to have achieved this goal, and I am glad that agility was the skill that got there first.

I will never forget being a newbie and wanting to take a short cut and seeing that it required a higher agility score than I had at that time. It is funny because I think it was only like 38? Absolutely less than 40 skill. It annoyed me (and wouldn't be the last time it annoyed me, or the last spot to annoy me) so to know that I can cross any shortcut now and forever is an amazing feeling. Knowing that I won't be flummoxed by that again feels really good! Also the skillcape that will let me never fail an agility course challenge totally rocks.

Then I posted about it in the /r/runescape subreddit and asked people what the first skill they got to 99 was, and it was cool to see the stories some of the people shared. This game has been out for years and years, some of the stories were from the naughty aughties (AKA the 2000s). It was a rad experience and I am glad I posted about it.

Someone in that thread told me about a keepsake key that you can use on your first 99 cape. If you don't use it, once you get your second skill to 99 it changes that cape. Right now it is a really cool solid purple color, but I guess this is going to change when I get my second skills to 99. So I went ahead and spent the six bucks to buy a keepsake key, so it will always look the way it does now. I am really glad that someone shared this with me! To be clear, getting some post karma was cool too, but mostly I am glad to know that I can save the look of that first 99 skillcape forever. If I wouldn't have posted about it, I wouldn't have known and would have lost the cool effect.

I also learned a less fun lesson, and that is that in getting my magic high enough to use a different type of spell, that means going to fight monsters is more expensive than before. I found myself broke again (having bought a tier 80 wand and magic book) and having stored up a bunch of stuff for DXP. I spent a few hours grinding out some cash, but I decided to do something I have not done in months - I went to work on divination. For me, this is one of the most boring skills to train in all of RS3, but I was finally able to get it to 85 so I can get more experience from playing a mini game and less time grinding in the Hall of Memories.

That's where I am at, internet friend. Got enough stuff to make a thousand overload potions to get to 99 herblore (maybe even higher) because there are also proteans. I have a thousand shakes for herblore, over 3000 for smithing, and a bunch of others as well. I've done my best to not spend them, or any of the training dummies so perhaps I can even get a combat skill or two to 99 as well! If you couldn't tell, I am really excited about DXP and looking forward to some big gains.

Anyway, if you couldn't tell from how long this post is, I am once again really fired up about RS3. Getting that first 99 just made me want to get another, and another! Virtual leveling is dangerous/cool as well, because I like having the gold box around my agility and want to see it around a bunch of other skills as well. Eventually one day I would like to max and then virtual 120 (plus 150 invention), but that will probably be a year or more from now. It's fun to dream!

That's all for this week, internet friend. Thanks for reading this far. I hope that you have a nice day and a great week. Cheers!

A large chihuahua (black and white dog) with a blanket on the lower half of his body and his tongue sticking out.
This picture of Bruiser was too good not to use!


Previous post    Back to top of page    Next post