Weekly Update for March 27, 2022

Howdy internet friend! This is the first weekly update I've posted here on this page. I've been slowly working on improving the look and feel of the website, and it's coming slower than I might like. However, I'm going to use it as an opportunity to extend some grace to myself and be glad that I am working on it today, when I could just as easily be trying to play Civ 6.

I think where I am really unhappy is with the CSS. I think it would be prudent to invest some time next week in focusing specifically on CSS and then using this page as a chance to roll out some improvements. This last week I was pleased with myself for making progress. I'm not happy with the layout for whateversauce.com and I am eventually going to update it. But I've already written about that before.

This week I finally came back to making video content after taking a month off. I wasn't planning on taking that much time, but it ended up happening. I was focused on trying to relax and read some philosophy during my morning routine last week. I wrote some tweets about it, but I appreciate stoic philosophy much more as I get older. Perhaps that is function of looking at philosophy in terms of the, "lover of wisdom" perspective, rather than the post-modern idea of using philosophy as a weapon to prove other people wrong. Or as an intellectual justification for a form of nihilism about the future, given that truth is a subject term without meaning given how subjective it is.

Am I saying that I believe in a static conception or notion of truth? No, I don't. I still think that it is subjective. However, that doesn't mean that there aren't things that are worth pursuing for oneself. Just because there is no static notion of truth doesn't mean that I can't find a version of truth to drive my life towards. I know there is a right way to behave. I have a feeling there is a right way to be a parent. I suspect the way I am doing it now could be better.

I have learned from the meditations that the past is gone and the future isn't promised. If you look at the whole length of recorded time, the amount that we are alive is inconsequential. Proof in point, Marcus Aurelius was writing almost 2,000 years ago. However, what was written then is still applicable today.

There is more I could say on the subject, but for now let me shift gears. As I mentioned above, I finally got some video content posted, including a post over on YouTube and I made a TikTok video about it as well.

That's about all I have to report this week. I'm hoping to invest some time this week in learning CSS and maybe even starting on a little programming project with Python. I've got some ideas but I need to just push through and start implementing stuff. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read this post. I hope you dug it, and that you have a great day.

Cheers, internet friend!

Next post Back to top of page